Testimonials

Melinda Cottage | East Runton | North Norfolk Coast

Lovely Holiday Cottage, Great Location

Melinda Cottage | East Runton

Fantastic holiday weather was perfect, lovely cottage, great location. Constantia restaurant was great, really good food. Walked to Cromer and West Runton along the beach. Coasthopper bus to Sheringham, then steam train to Holt is a must. We had a fantastic time!

Colin, Chris,Eloise and Isobel

May 18th-25th 2019

Totally Awesome Time

Melinda Cottage | East Runton

We have enjoyed a totally awesome time at Melinda Cottage. A true home from home. Thank you for the welcome pack and the ready prepared fire which was very cosy. We enjoyed a walk to Cromer and then Sheringham followed by delicious fish and chips and a pint at the Fishing boat. The weather has been very sunny and dry.

Karen & Kevin McAndrew and Paddy Thurgarton.

22nd-25th March 2019

Thank you for a lovely break

Melinda Cottage | East Runton

The cottage was fantastic with all that was needed for a refreshing break.  Great location, central to all Norfolk’s gems. The garden was lovely and enabled us to spend time with our family in the beautiful sunshine.

Phil and Louise Pavey. 13-18th April 2019

Melinda Cottage more than lived up to expectations

Robert
29 Dec – 2 Jan 2019
We booked Richard’s lovely cottage for a family get-together (with dogs) over New Year. After falling in love with North Norfolk earlier in 2018, and reading the wonderful reviews of this cottage we had no hesitation in booking. I have to see that Melinda Cottages more than lived up to expectations. The cottage itself is lovely, warm, cozy and, as previous reviewers have noted, much bigger on the inside than it looks from outside and the pictures. There was more than enough room for us and our dogs. It is impeccably clean whilst also being incredibly accommodating to our dogs. We loved the fact that they could feel at home and had a lovely back garden to explore. Our host had also gone to the trouble of leaving a welcome gift of essential items and a much-appreciated bottle of wine. The location is perfect with all local amenities you may need – supermarkets within a mile, but the local shop, pub, restaurants and fish and chop shop offer all that you need for a short break. The pub opposite is very friendly, the Guinness is great (and cheap). One word of warning on the fish and chop shop – they should, indeed, be award-winning, the food is fresh and delicious, but the portions are very large – you could probably share one between two and still be stuffed! There is a dog-friendly beach just a few yards across the road which was ideal for blowing off the cobwebs the morning after an evening in the pub, then back to the cottage for a few more drinks and games beside the cozy fire. Cromer is only a mile or so along the beach so gave us plenty of scope to get some air and tire the dogs out, as well as the opportunity to buy the wonderful local seafood. All in all we had a brilliant, relaxing stay at Melinda Cottages – just what the doctor ordered. Neither the cottage itself nor our hosts could have been any more perfect for our break. We hope to be back soon.

This is a wonderful cottage

This is a wonderful cottage; beautifully fitted out and with everything you need. Extremely dog friendly yet everywhere immaculate. The stairs are steep and the bathroom is downstairs -these are the only slight negatives. The fish and chip shop in East Runton is second to none, the Fishing Boat pub is very friendly with very good selection of very reasonably priced beer. Just a 15 minute walk into Cromer and literally 2 minutes walk from the beach. We had the most wonderful week walking big chunks of the coastal path and catching the bus to and from. Loads of wonderful crab and lobster shacks and great delis selling locally sourced food all along the coast. It was all magical.

October 2018

Jenny H

A Beautiful Cottage

This is a beautiful cottage owned by lovely people. It is truly a home from home. It is very clean and welcoming and the extra touches the owners put in place were very thoughtful. They were very easy to contact too.

Sharon

October 2018

Sharon D

A complete and utter gem

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

The cottage, its location and the whole area far exceeded our expectations. Exceptionally well presented and well located, quiet yet close to small row of shops, superb fish and chip shop and local pub. Even had an outdoor shop store so we were able to purchase a ruck sack. We took our two small dogs and they were made so welcome, dog towels and bowls and even some dog treats. Cottage ideally catered for dogs with covers for the furniture. Great dog walking in this area too. Two miles to Sherringham at low tide along great stretch of sandy beach. In the other direction a mile and a bit to Cromer. Easy access to Norfolk coastal path. We walked 8 miles to Cle and then took the coast hopper bus back to the cottage. Stops right outside. We will definitely be back to this little gem!

Happy, relaxing holiday!

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

Cottage ideally located in East Runton, close to the beach, family friendly pubs and a traditional fish and chip shop. Enjoyed walks into Cromer, and trips into nearby Sherringham. Kids enjoyed the Red Arrows and the firework display as part of Cromer carnival week. Beautiful, modernised fisherman’s cottage, well equipped and comfortable. Very friendly owners left thoughtful welcome pack – wine much appreciated thank you. Would stay again.

Mr P A A

An amazing Cottage

An amazing cottage, much bigger than expected! Fantastic layout and had every ammenity you can ask for! Kitchen was fantastic to cook in with lots of equipment. Huge modern bathroom with a lovely hot shower! A holiday of a life time! Beautiful nautical theme throughout the cottage! Huge garden that traps the sun! We will be back!

Stephanie D

Lovely little place.

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

An amazing little cottage. It is a home from home. It has practically everything you need. The local beach is great especially if you like exploring for critters.

Angela S

Little Gem

Melinda Cottage Facebook

Our third year. Fantastic little gem of a cottage. We are never disappointed.

Hazel Pettifor

AMAZING cottage

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

We have just returned home from East Runton Norfolk. Melina cottage was a perfect base for what was an amazing holiday. The house was fully equip with everything we needed and even little extras that we didn’t know we needed!! East runton is mad for parking and Melinda cottage had parking for 2 cars which was perfect!! Can’t wait to go back very very soon!!!!

Rebecca B

Great location lovely cosy cottage

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

Had a wonderful week in Melinda cottage – dogs loved the beach as well as the lovely walks through beautiful countryside. Cottage very comfortable – parking a little tricky.

joanne cropley

Highly Recommend

Melinda Cottage Facebook

Amazing time at the very beautiful Melinda cottage .. highly recommended .. great location would love to return x

Lu Tyler

Melinda cottage is a fabulous base for beautiful Norfolk

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

We have been regular visitors to Norfolk since 2006 – it’s a great place to take children and no motorways! It’s our first stay at Melinda Cottage and it was a good choice. The children are now grown up but still had a good time. The dog made us find some great walks – it was lovely having access to the beach. The cottage is spacious, spotless, modern and well equipped. There’s lots of extra touches. We hope to return.

cerb6868

Tastefully furnished, well equipped, great location

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

Had a fabulous week in wonderful North Norfolk. Melinda Cottage makes a great base to explore this lovely part of the world. Extremely well equipped kitchen (even good cooks knives, a bugbear of mine in many self-catering places), plenty to entertain us inside and out with beach and crabbing equipment in the shed we could borrow. There was also room in the shed for us to lock up our bikes, which was a bonus. Lovely garden up steps out the back of the cottage with a built in barbecue.

Parking is a bit of a challenge but perfectly possible and helps you hone your reversing skills! The stairs are steep but even and there is a solid handrail. My 2 year old managed them with supervision.

louisetaft

Lovely Thank you

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

We have just returned from a lovely week at this cottage. 4 adults, 2 toddlers and dog managed to squeeze in comfortably! The cottage has everything you need (apart from blackout curtains) and is very close to the pubs, chippy, shops and beach. I have not given 5 stars solely on the parking as it is very tight for 2 cars, we did have to ask the neighbours to move their car so we could get in but other than that we would recommend.

Thank you

Cromer2285

Lovely Cottage

Melinda Cottage Facebook

We’ve just returned from our third visit to this lovely cottage. It’s as good as it looks in the photographs, is in a convenient location and is reasonably priced.

Sally Anthonies

Another fabulous week in this lovely cottage

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

A first rate rental, in a perfect location. This is the second year we have spent Easter at Melinda Cottage with our two jack russell terriers. As ever made to feel entirely welcome. We will definitely be back next year.

Hazel P

Wonderfully presented cottage with everything you could need, dog friendly too.

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

Fantastic location, tucked away in pretty village with good amenities. Plenty to see and do in the area, from visiting historic houses and museums, exploring the coast, boat trips for seal watching, to just chilling out on the beach which is just two minutes from the cottage. What could be better? We will be back!

Andrea S

Lovely

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

Lovely clean cottage. A proper rural getaway. We love the Norfolk coast so we’re likely to be back. Thank you 😃

Andy A

Lots of Extras

Melinda Cottage Facebook

Fantastic cottage with lots of extras. Will be sad to go home

Sallyann

Beautiful Cottage, perfect for a small group!

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

We have stayed in another cottage in this row but this was far superior. You step into a lovely furnished and modern open living space which is perfect for a small group and ensures whoever is on cooking duty, does not feel separated from the group but also has a lovely cosy feel (helped along when the log burner is lit!)….. The cottage is very well equipped and especially dog friendly with their own blankets and towels provided, but for the non dog owner there is no obvious sign of dogs ever having stayed as it is very clean and not a dog hair in site. The upstairs has 3 cosy bedrooms which have the great cottage feel to them and there is a great size garden which is fenced in allowing you to let your dog have a wander without worrying about them escaping.

The owners are very friendly and I was left feeling that nothing was too much trouble in all my dealings with Shelley.

Would highly recommend and will be returning in the future.

East Runton itself is a lovely little village within walking distance of the larger Cromer with a fabulous beach to explore. Please be aware though, there is not really anywhere to eat out in the village itself during the winter months after Christmas but plenty of places within a short drive away.

If you love Norfolk, as we do, great place to base yourself to enable you to explore the area by foot or car.

“lovely place to stay”

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

January 2015

The property was lovely clean with everything thought of including the dogs. The only downside was the parking and the bathroom being downstairs. Would definitely recommend one of the best cottages we’ve stayed in 🙂

“Beautiful little cottage.”

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

March 2014

I always want to say beautiful little cottage but it isn’t really as it sleeps 6. Its in a lovely location, really handy for the beach and a couple of nice bars/restaurants. You need to be good at reversing to get parked but its worth while as its a nice quiet little cul-de-sac. Everything is quite newly renovated in a vintage seaside style and its one of the most well equipped cottages I’ve been in. There was a welcome tray with tea, biccies and wine and even something for pooch. The stairs are quite steep which is something to be aware of. The bed was really comfortable at first but the plastic backed mattress protector soon made us hot an sticky – I realise this is probably a necessary evil but perhaps there is an alternative which would prove more comfortable. That said, I would definitely return to the cottage and recommend it to everyone.

“One of the best”

Melinda Cottage TripAdvisor

March 2014

A true gem. Warm and cosy. Everything had been thought of, for a comfortable stay. Spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, we instantly felt at home. Dog friendly too. Owners very helpful, we honestly couldn’t have wanted for anything. Location ideal, close to the beach, yet tucked away in a quiet corner of the village. Parking has been mentioned, and I would say, as long as you are a confident driver, the short reverse to the cottage shouldnt be an issue.